16.—Lieutenant-Governors of Quebec, 1867-1948, Legislatures and Premiers, 1934-48, and Present Ministry as at July 28, 1948—concluded

Twentieth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, July 28, 1948: 82 Union Nationale, 8 Liberals and 2 Independent.)

Office	Name	Date of Appointment	
Premier, Attorney General and President of Executive Council	Hon. MAURICE L. DUPLESSIS	Ang.	30, 1944
Provincial Treasurer	Hon. Onesime Gagnon	Aug.	30, 1944
Minister of Lands and Forests	Hon. J. S. BOURQUE	Aug,	30, 1944
Minister of Health	Hon. J. A. PAQUETTE	Aug. 3	30, 1944
Minister of Municipal Affairs	Hon, Bona Dussault	Aug.	30, 19 4 4
Minister of Roads	Hon. Antonio Talbot	Aug.	30, 1944
Minister of Public Works	Hon. Romeo Lorrain	Aug. 3	30, 1944
Minister of Mines	Hon. Jonathan Robinson	Aug. 3	30, 1944
Minister of Colonization	Hon. Jos. D. Begin	Aug. 3	30, 1944
Minister of Game and Fisheries	Hon. C. E. Poulior	Aug. 3	30, 1944
Minister of Labour	Hon. Antonio Barrette	Aug. 3	30, 1944
Minister of Trade and Commerce	Hon. Paul Beaulieu	Aug. 2	30, 1944
Minister of Agriculture	Hon, Laurent Barre	Aug.	30, 1944
Provincial Secretary	Hon. OMER COTE.	Aug. 3	30, 1944
Minister of Social Welfare and of Youth	Hon. Paul Sauve	Sept. 1	18, 1946
Minister without portfolio	Hon. Antonio Elie	Aug. 3	30, 1944
Minister without portfolio	Hon, TANCREDE LABBE	Aug. 3	30. 1944
Minister without portfolio	Hon Marc Trudel.		30, 1944
Minister without portfolio	Hon. Patrice Tardif		30, 1944
Minister without portfolio	Hon. J. T. LAROCHELLE		30, 1944
Minister without portfolio	Hon. J. H. Delisle		30, 1944

Subsection 5.—Ontario

The House of Assembly of Ontario, the single-chamber Legislature of the Province, is composed of 90 elected members. It is elected for five years on an adult suffrage basis and holds annual sessions so that 12 months shall not intervene between the last sitting in one session and the first sitting in the next.

The Executive Council consists (1948) of 13 members holding portfolios as follows: Premier, President of the Council and Minister of Education; Attorney General; Minister of Lands and Forests; Minister of Agriculture; Minister of Highways and Minister of Public Works; Minister of Labour; Provincial Treasurer and Minister of Mines; Provincial Secretary and Registrar; Minister of Municipal Affairs and Minister of Reform Institutions; Minister of Health; Minister of Public Welfare; Minister of Planning and Development; Minister of Travel and Publicity; and three Ministers without portfolio.

Besides the regular departments, certain commissions have been created for specific purposes. They include the Niagara Parks Commission, the Ontario Municipal Board, the Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario and the Ontario Northland Transportation Commission.